DataOne arrives

BSNL DataOne – The monster 2 Mb/s broadband connection. The dream, my friends, has at last come true!

I have had some weird encounters with broadband connections in the past.. Take ’03 for example. It was a time when the rest of the world was getting used to broadband. And I was not to be left behind. So I looked around.. and found my neighbour working on his Ph.D thesis – On his all new 512 Kb/s cable connection. *big grin*.

Thus began a long week of purchasing cables, crimping them in crossover mode (nightmare, I tell you!), configuring the system for connection sharing, realizing I messed up in the crimping, doing everything all over again.. etc.

At the end of the week, when I was finally browsing at the promised speeds (and he was getting dial-up speeds since I was using up all the bandwidth *big grin number 2*).. disaster struck. In all the excitement, I had completely forgotten that my Board exams (I was in class 10th back then) were inching closer.. And it seemed my parents were just waiting for the connection to be up and running before they spilled out the bad news: “Son, you’re spending way too much time “watching” the computer. You’ll have to pack it up.. And Oh, that means no more internet!”

By the time I was free again, the neighbour was done with his goddamn Ph.D and I was done with my broadband. Sigh.

If I were to plot the average connection speeds I had gotten till 2006, it’d be a straight line, hovering around 30 Kb/s.. with a few pulses thrown in here and there.

From 2006 to ’07, I used GPRS. Oooohh GPRS. I can’t find enough (swear) words to describe it. But it was better than nothing..

2007 ushered in the era of “Huawei” (I’m referring to BSNL DataCard here..). It was better than GPRS. But only marginally so.

And in December 2008 I switched to *drum rolls* DataOne. As of now, I have no complaints whatsoever. The 2.5 Gb/s cap is just fine and the speeds are amazing. Their “portal” seems to go down very often which usually means I’m unable to check my current usage for days at a time. But that’s a minor glitch in an otherwise superb connection.

Compared to “Huawei”, DataOne is well, beyond comparison.. But I do miss the little white modem with its long tail. Whenever the speeds seemed to go down, I would try re-positioning the device, sometimes on the CPU, sometimes under it. In fact, I spent a considerable amount of time doing just this.. and as a result, I knew exactly which spatial co-ordinate yielded what speeds! Ahh sweet memories!

And so the story goes.. I hope the graph never looks down again. I hope the pacific is as blue as it is in my dreams. I hope… 😛

Side Note: There’s a nifty little Firefox plug-in that displays DataOne usage in the status bar. It seems to be able to retrieve usage data even when the “portal” is down (most of the time anyway). Download link: DataFox Plug-in.

Leave a Reply

