Flashing away my fears..

It’s amazing how quickly the human brain forgets bad memories.. sigh. It’s hardly been a couple o’ days since my exams got over and I’ve forgotten about 70% of the stuff that I so painfully introduced my brain to in the span of a few days.

Well that doesn’t make much difference to me. Most of the stuff I had to learn this time was pretty much useless anyway.. let’s hope I don’t get introduced to them again πŸ™‚

Coming to more interesting stuff, I finally conjured up enough courage to patch my W700i’s firmware. I had been wanting to do this for a long time now but was afraid of voiding the warranty.. but then after reading a couple of guides, I realized that flashing wasn’t a do-or-die situation as most of us think.

Of course any unexpected error during the patching/flashing process does stop your heart from beating for a few seconds.. but that’s just natural. If something bad does happen, there are plenty of options. And even if none of them work, you just write the original firmware to the phone before giving it to the service center. The chances of getting detected are almost NIL.

With the above paragraph running through my mind every second, I decided to go for it. My main objective was to increase the SMS capacity of my phone from 200 or so messages. After going through the guide(s) for the umpteenth time (and downloading the required software in the background), I proceeded, hoping nothing would go wrong.

Surprisingly enough, nothing did and it was all a pretty smooth ride. Everything from flashing the dummy CID49 firmware in XS++ to repatching the original one in FAR went without a hitch. You just had to do it carefully and slowly, double checking at each step.

Well, as of now, I’m pretty sure the fear is almost gone, having applied about 10 patches which include one for controlling the walkman through my handsfree.. how cool is that ?! But then, this what I need to watch out for – complacency. One wrong step anywhere and I’ll probably die of shock (ya ya I get pretty tensed up sometimes).

Of course, none of this would’ve been possible without the superb guides and tutorials out there and the experts who wrote them. If it weren’t for them, I’ll still be cleaning up my inbox every hour.

In case anyone wants to try this out, check out (for W700i) the orkut community FLASHED W700i. It has links to all the tutorials and software you’ll ever need.

Happy flashing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

